Life: The Board Game Of Suck

While trying to resolve an issue with my wireless router I decided to shirk whatever duties I had at the time and log into the AOL Instant Messenger. Now, I haven’t been on the ‘AIM’ (as the kids call it) in awhile so I wasn’t sure if anyone used it anymore and any effort I put forth would an exercise in futility. Luckily a good friend (we’ll call K) I haven’t talked to for almost a year was on, and we actually had a conversation that put some things in perspective for me.

In know that if you search this blog for the phrase “put some things in perspective for me” you’ll pull up at least 6 or 7 posts, but that’s how constantly lost I am so bare with me…

I’ve known ‘K’ since about the 5th grade, but we really didn’t become friends till about the end of our freshman year. For some reason to took me that long to realise that she was a completely honest, level headed, fun person, and she realised that…um…to be completely honest I don’t know…really.

Our conversation was filled with pseudo philosophic non sequiturs (a standard for us), basic pleasantries, and our general surrender that life (so far) is far from what we expected it to be. That surrender is exactly what I needed to here from someone else, because I’ve surrendered along time ago. That fact that someone who was in the same boat as me…is still in the same the same helps me know that I haven’t completely lead a shitty life.

The lesson for today: Sure, your life sucks. Other peoples’ lives suck too.

3 responses to “Life: The Board Game Of Suck

  1. Ain’t it the truth? My job helps put that in perspective for me, but we all need reminders from time to time.

  2. Caveman – I’m a week away from turning 29, and I still have no f’ing idea what I’m doing. Isn’t growing up fun?

  3. ahh, it is the curse of an aquarian my friend,
    to always ponder the human experience. you are
    wise to know that no matter how ridiculous our
    lives are, there are others out there with the
    same.

Leave a Reply

