Yet another example of why I’m going to make a Therapist very happy one day…

Last night I slept on the couch.

I know what you’re thinking and no it’s not the cliche’ “spurned lover kicks me out of my room” (even though it would make a better story for all of us…). My late night living room camp-out is solely the result of an over active imagination and years of an boarder line un-healthy obsession with an art form known as the “horror movie”.

As I was settling into bed around 1:00am last night (what?) I started to hear slight creaking sounds, and as I raise my head to try to figure were the sound was coming from I realize my closet door was slowly opening. I paused to truly understand gravity of the situation, and then I got the hell out of there…

Now, Ladies and Gentlemen I don’t know about you but I’ve seen enough movies to know that ten out of ten people who get out of bed to shut the open closet door have something bad happen. Since I didn’t want to be eaten by clowns, sucked into a whacked out ghost dimension, have my soul pulled through my eyeballs, or any number of fates that my subconsious likes to play in the back on my head like some twisted drive-in theater I think I made the right decision. 

  

8 responses to “Yet another example of why I’m going to make a Therapist very happy one day…

  1. Hell, I would have gone to a hotel.

  2. When I was single and lived by myself, I always slept on my couch. It’s more comfortable than my bed.

  3. That is exactly why I can only watch horror movies in the morning or middle of the day. After 5pm and I can’t get the images out of my mind!

  4. vintagecaveman

    @jt I once slept on the floor for 2 years…

  5. I hope you closed the bedroom door and sprinkled a line of salt and a line of brick dust in front of it before bedding down on the couch. I mean, if you’re going to over-react, might as well go full-bore. You only look a tinier bit crazy if it turns out to be nothing, and if you’re RIGHT…well, who’s got the last laugh when the ghost/zombie/hellclown is messily devouring your next-door neighbor?

  6. When there’s a strange noise in our house, I am the one who has to investigate. All 110 pounds of me verses the God Only Knows What. Next time, I’ll use your couch method. That way, he’ll be the first to be eaten!

  7. Strange noises at night get investigated by Daisy the Wonderdog. In that she barks. Which wakes me up from my slumber, terrified. Not at the creepy noises, but the barking.

  8. I applaud your decision. Because we have *all* laughed at that “stupid chick” who opened the door instead of running and then died. How ironic would it be if one of *us* turned out to be the stupid chick?

Leave a Reply

