…In Which Our Hero Gets A Little Heavy

Here’s a story from the two weeks I spent studying Buddhism (Long story. Indeed a blog post for another time.):

A man walking across a field spots a man-eating tiger. Fearing for his life, he runs. The tiger not being able to pass up a meal chases after him. Tiger chases him to edge of cliff, and the man falls off.
Halfway down, he grabs onto a plant. The tiger sniffed at him from above. Terrified, the man looked down to where, far below, another tiger had come, waiting to eat him.
Meanwhile two rodents in the commotion noticed the uneaten plant sticking out of the side of cliff and they begin to chow down.  The man was certain he was going to die.
Suddenly out of the corner of his eye the man notices a luscious wild strawberry growing on the same plant that was keeping him alive for the time being. He plucks it and eats it.
That strawberry was the single greatest he has ever had.

The general meaning of the story is that no matter what is going on in your life, you should savor ever little moment. I can’t recommend this enough…

(The sub context is that my a grandfather is sick…and I it frightens me sometimes.  Being the sucky person I am means when something bad happens I completely shut down, and stories like the above reminds me to do stuff like normal people should.

Sorry I bummed you out.)

3 responses to “…In Which Our Hero Gets A Little Heavy

  1. It’s tough contemplating our own mortality. I had a hard time dealing with it when I started residency. Even now, I’m intermittenly reminded that we *all* walk that fine line between this world and the next every single day. Do what you need to do to deal with it. It’s ok.

  2. Your method of coping is better than mine. I get drunk and go to bed.

  3. I’m good at doing the ostrich thing–sticking my head into the figurative sand. Beautiful story by the way and best wishes to you and your grandfather.

Leave a Reply

