Dylan

Saturday (May 17) I finally got a chance to see one of my musical idols in concert, Bob Dylan. I didn’t want to forget a single second of this once lifetime experience so I took a ton of notes right up to the concert start. No notes taken during the concert though…I mean what kind of nerd do you take me for? (I you just to read my thoughts on the show, then just skip to the bottom)

Dylan Pre-Show
4:00pm -I throw on the appropriate concert attire and I head out to grab a sandwich to eat while I wait so I wouldn’t be so inclined to stuff my maw with horrible concert venue food.
4:15pm -I discover that the sandwich shop is closed on Saturdays (what is up with that?) , so I intend to make due with some mini muffins I bought at a gas station down the street,
4:55pm ish -I finally make it to the front of the venue and discover that 2 and a half hours early is not early enough for Bob Dylan. There are close to 200+ people in front of me…

At first glance I can pick out the standard concert going crowd: the music geeks, hipsters (so far I count 6 ironic t-shirts, 3 large pairs of sun glasses, 4 fedoras, and a handful of flannel), and a smattering of people who are there to enjoy themselves. This being the concert of a musician who gained popularity in the 60’s and 70’s you also get a mixing of old hippies, your standard reformed 60’s roustabouts, and the elusive yet invasive “yupster” with their children (OH from a yupster “My little Billy has taken an interest in folk music since he was 6 months old”).

Biding my time listening to an old hippy tell a gunner who is on leave from Iraq about why he’s not a bad person “just doing bad things”. Awkward to say the least…

5:55pm
-The official line is solidified when everyone rushed forward for some odd reason, and I realize that there are couple thousand people behind me. Feeling good about my line position I begin the countdown to door opening.
6:00pm to 6:30 -Spent my time talking to a housewife from New Hampshire, a brand new minister from Massachusetts, and a professor from two towns away.
6:34pm -The doors open and it is a mad rush through the gates. I give up my line position to purchase a souvenir program (because I’m a nerd). I find a perfect seat and I settle down for a good long night.

I don’t do the area in front of the stage. It’s full of hipsters and youngings who really can’t be enjoying the music because they’re standing for 2 hours, sweaty, and crammed up against other sweaty people. Of course it is great to be up close, but you won’t find me there unless I’ve gone crazy. But I digress.

Around 7:30pm – Music blares over the speakers, the lights go down, and the crowd goes crazy.

Dylan Post Show

For my first and hopefully not my last Bob Dylan concert I had a great time. Bob unfortunately was behind the keyboard all night, but even with that development he was the consummate musician. The set list interweaved some of his old classics with some of his newer songs off his album “Modern Times” which I’m glad to have have gotten familiar with before hand. My favorite part of the evening hands down was the recomposition of “Blowin’ In The Wind”, and the standing ovation that followed.

Of course Bob Dylan is old, of course his voice isn’t like it use to be, and of course his newer stuff isn’t as good as the standards…but what do you expect? If you went to the show Saturday and expected to see a young man playing the 1963 Newport Folk Festival, then you are freaking out of your mind.

The show was great, and will being something I’ll remember till I’m Bob’s age.

2 responses to “Dylan

  1. that is awesome that you were able to
    attend his concert!

    i especially found this funny, “it is
    great to be up close, but you won’t find
    me there unless I’ve gone crazy.” i’m not
    big on being touched by sweaty strangers.

  2. So glad you had fun seeing one of your musical idols!

Leave a Reply

