Good Omen

Yesterday was the standard “Blood Donation Day”at the college today, and my general philosophy dictates that I must give until it hurts (because I’ve done a lot of bad things and I need the extra credit with the big guy). 

Anyways..Due to poor scheduling on the college’s part all blood letting had to happen in a big ol’ Red Cross bus behind the cafeteria. I sign in, finish off the standard “Could your blood kill someone?”questionaire, and grab a window seat.

Now, I have no problem whatsoever giving blood (once again…I’ve done bad things), I just have a problem with the whole “stabbing” aspect of it. It may surprise most of you, but I’m a huge pansy. I’ve given blood around 7 times in my life and I still wimper like a sick puppy every time.

While waiting for the ever important needle a song came over the radio that made me feel a lot better. I mean, it isn’t just any song that can turn me getting stabbed in the arm into a pleasent thing. It is a song I’ve been hearing on an almost consistant basis for the past 2 weeks: “Higher And Higher” by Jackie Wilson. I’m not saying it is was good song just that it was a good omen.

For those who are not in the know: “Higher and Higher” is the song  that is used to bring the Statue of Liberty to life in the movie Ghostbusters II. Ghostbusters II is a movie I’ve seen close to 25 times (as of this post) due to my writing class paper about about the series’ cultural impact. The fact that I have never heard the song on the radio before this point meant my day was going to be good one.

If you don’t believe me I’ve got fifty bucks that I won later that day that proves otherwise.

 

One response to “Good Omen

  1. Great song, and I’m also scared of needles.

Leave a Reply

