Tragedy Tomorrow, Comedy Tonight

Saturday I stopped by one of my old stomping grounds to go see my old High School do the musical “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum”.

I was motivated to go see the Mel Brooks style musical for two major reasons:

  1. “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum” is a classic film, and it is one of the best works to include one of the most misunderstood comedic actors of the 60’s: Zero Mostel.
  2. As the High School theatre company’s former light guy (+5 nerd cred) I had to support them at least once while on “the outside” without feeling guilty.

Expectantly I ran into a few people I knew, and it was really good to see them but I just generally kept to myself. When intermission hit I got up to grab a grape juice and a bag of Nilla Wafers but bumped into my Sophomore year Algebra teacher who asked how I was doing.

My standard reply to the question of “How are you doing” is “Not good, but doing better”.

My Sophomore Algebra teacher replied in a generally concerned manner, and we talked for a little while. We discussed some of my general upsetness with the current year, and he put some things in perspective for me. Oddly enough I left feeling better about my general situation…Surprised the hell out of me.

I’ve become really bored with the music I’ve been listening to lately, and I’m looking for something else. Could someone offer another band, or really any music at all? If it sounds like a good prospect and I have the money I will buy the the cd…

My internet is going in and out consistantly so if I don’t post for awhile it’s not my fault, it is the internet’s.

 

3 responses to “Tragedy Tomorrow, Comedy Tonight

  1. Dude! I can believe someone else uses the non-word “upsetness.” Awesome!

    I have no idea what kind of music you youngsters are into these days, but the 28-year-old band of geezers called R.E.M. just put out a new album record cd.

  2. Okay…I tried to be funny and strike out some words and it didn’t work. Hence, “album record cd.” Uh, never mind.

  3. vintagecaveman

    You get an A for effort, Jodi.

    I hear the new REM is great.

Leave a Reply

