The quest for the laptop

As some of you may already know I’m a film student trying to work through my first year of college. I’ve been pretty happy with the computer system I’ve used so far, but with every start up and download I can’t help but get more and more pissed off with it’s composition of pure suck.

My Dell Inspiron 1100 was created by the devil in the pits of hell to punish me for something bad I’ve done in a past life. It’s low on ram, it only has 20 gigabytes of hard drive space, it has no spell check or Word program to speak of, and it heats up worse than a frying pan. For God sakes, it shuts down when the temperature in the room goes above 30 degrees.

Now that I’ve got a some-what steady job that pays horribly I can use the small percentage I’m not putting towards college to jump start the fund raising on the new laptop. Through out the up coming months I’m going to post different fund raising techniques (selling my stuff, jar of pennies, etc.. )  I’m going to try to raise to estimated $1900 in hardware and software.

Apple’s Macbook seems to be about the best laptop for what I want to do. Although this would my first venture into Apple territory but I find that Mac is one of the most graphically charged PCs out there today. I’m also going to get FinalCut Express 4 (one of the best editing software’s out there), Office for Mac (anything but MSWord will drive me fucking nutty), and a wireless mouse.

To track my progress look no farther then my side bar, and don’t worry I won’t ask you for money (yet).

13-inch White
  • 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
  • 2GB memory
  • 250GB hard drive
  • Double-layer SuperDrive
3 responses to “The quest for the laptop

  1. it looks just like mine!

  2. I had a Dell Inspiron 1100 too, and switched it for a Macbook. It’s 50 bajillion times better than any Windows laptop I ever had.

    Trust me, saving the money and getting the laptop will be SO worth it.

  3. at least put up a stupid paypal link …

Leave a Reply

