Social Science

I have a late Sociology on Wednesday nights, and tonight we discussed “Socialization through the Life Course”. The basic idea behind it is that as we go through the different stages of life, roles and the way we socialize changes. Interestingly, it also means around the age 65 you are expected to voluntary give up your role and become the “old person”.

Personally, when I’m 65 I’m not giving up anything without a fight. My plain is when I get older I’m going to buy one of those sword-canes for that special occasion when I become a burden to my kids and they send me to a nursing home. I swear to God an orderly is going to lose a finger.

Leave a Reply

